Close this search box.

Chief State Return With New Single “Team Wiped”

Vancouver-based pop-punk band Chief State is back with their new single “Team Wiped” off their debut full-length album Waiting For Your Colours. 

A Coming-Of-Age Album

Out on July 1 via Mutant League Records, Waiting For You Colours will be the follow-up to Chief State’s 2021 stand-alone single “Metaphors” and 2020 breakthrough EP Tough Love. The new project is the culmination of 5 years of relentless hustle (not to mention a ton of blood, sweat, and tears).

Uncertainty, longing, a search for meaning, and assessing life choices make up the themes on the new album; which chronicles closing out your 20s at a crossroads. Also, examining where we belong, our place in the world, and allowing ourselves the time to figure it all out. 

Simpson says, “There’s definitely a coming of age theme on the new album. We’re asking ourselves: What am I looking to get out of life, out of being in a band? What joys do I want to pursue and where do I want to place my energy moving forward? We’ve come to the realization that we all need to stress less on the things we can’t control and enjoy more of what we have, what we can control and the journey itself.”

The Story Behind Chief State

The journey to get here began with frontman Fraser Simpson, who at an impasse in his life, decided on a whim to leave his home in the UK for Japan in 2014 and eventually move to North America to form a band via Craigslist, where he connected with Nik Pang, Chris Kavanagh, Justin Pham, and Joseph Soderholm to create Chief State.

Collectively the band members spent their young adult lives struggling mentally, emotionally, and financially, in pursuit of their dreams, but the grind appears to have paid off, as Chief State is now on the cusp of something great! We can’t wait for their debut album to come out, so mark your calendars for July 1!

Waiting For Your Colours Track Listing

1) Continental Drift

2) Team Wiped

3) Out For Me

4) Wasting Away

5) Drown

6) Burning Out

7) Losing Sleep

8) 22 Reasons

9) Kills The Love, Haunts The Free

10) Sakura


If you like this song, check out State Champs’ latest single “Everybody But You.”

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments