Alt-pop Duo Mob Rich Unveils Debut Album “Why No Why”

On May 14th, Mob Rich released their debut album Why No Why. Mob Rich is an alt-pop duo; formed by Maxwell Joseph and Connor Pledger. The duo signed to Republic Records in 2019 and have been releasing singles and EP’s ever since. Why No Why features 14 tracks, including already released singles, “Everything and Nothing,” “Hell Yeah,” “Made To Fall,” “Yoko Ono,” “Loser,” and “friends*” feat. Bishop Briggs, as well as their new single “Funeral.”

Mob Rich shared with 360 magazine, “Our debut album is a collection of conversations we’ve had with each other over the years we’ve been friends. Those conversations found a way of turning into songs and those songs became very dear to us. We have constantly been asking ourselves the ‘why’ questions our whole lives. We can’t wait for our fans to be able to listen to this album and hopefully ask those questions themselves.”


 The 43-minute-long debut album consist of 14 tracks:

  1. Dandy Liars
  2. Buggin
  3. Loser
  4. Hell Yeah
  5. Two Sides
  6. Funeral
  7. Yoko Ono
  8. Lips and Mouth
  9. friends*
  10. Everything and Nothing
  11. Sad Boy Sounds
  12. Get High
  13. Lovely
  14. Made To Fall

“New Anthems for the Outcast” 

The California alt-pop duo have been creating music for years. They gained mass attention due to their successful singles “Yoko Ono” and “friends*”; which you can listen to on Why No Why, which have received over 2.3 million streams on Spotify. According to People Magazine, their songs showcase emotional honesty with a sense of humor.

“Since we are both music lovers, you can hear influence from all over the musical spectrum and clear inspiration from 90’s guitar progressions. Also more contemporary drum sounds and lyrically more experimental; like some of the indie bands we love,” Mob Rich tells People Magazine.

Fans are in Luck!

If you’re already a Mob Rich fan, (if you’re not, what are you waiting for?) you’ll be happy to hear that the duo posted to their Instagram this past week that they’ll be performing at Lollapalooza. Lollapalooza is a music festival that began in 1991. It was created by Jane’s Addiction leader Perry Farrell, as a venue for his band’s farewell tour. “Lollapalooza” is said to stand for “extraordinarily impressive”. This year’s festival will take place in Chicago, Illinois at Grant Park on July 29th to August 1st. Tickets for the 4-day music festival can be found on, starting at $375.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Music Daily Rewind

Catch up on all the week's top music news, and new music releases, delivered to your inbox each Saturday. Subscribe to Music Daily's weekly Rewind!