Close this search box.

Wisin & Yandel to Receive President’s Award at BMI Latin Awards

Reggaeton legends Wisin & Yandel will be honored for their achievements at this year’s BMI Latin Awards.

Wisin & Yandel’s 20-Year-Career Honored at BMI Latin Awards

Wisin & Yandel have impacted Latin music for over 20 years, and their success has not gone unnoticed. The award-winning reggaeton duo will receive the BMI President’s Award; which recognizes their accomplishments and contributions to the Latin music community. 

Taking place on March 15 at the Beverly Wilshire Hotel in Beverly Hills, CA., the BMI Latin Awards will be hosted by BMI President & CEO Mike O’Neill and BMI Vice President, Creative, Latin, Jesus Gonzalez. 

“Wisin & Yandel are true innovators of reggaeton and urban Latin music, Jesus Gonzalez said. “Their music transcends generations and has influenced many artists across all genres; helping to propel Latin music forward. We’re excited to finally come together and present this distinct honor to ‘el duo de la historia;’ (the duo of history) whose undeniable chemistry and talents have earned them legions of fans around the world.”

How it All Started

Wisin & Yandel began their career in the late ’90s; and released their first album Los Reyes del Nuevo Milenio in 2000. After that, they released multiple records that established their talents. Taking their career to the next level, the duo went on to attain further success with albums like Pa’l Mundo (2005); Los Extraterrestres (2007), and La Revolución (2009); which all peaked at #1 on Billboard’s Top Latin Albums. Also, they all reached massive popularity in countries around the world.

For more than two decades, Wisin & Yandel have been on top of the Latin charts. They have received numerous accolades throughout the years; including 54 BMI Latin Awards; and BMI’s Latin Songwriter of the Year in 2006, 2007, and 2011. Additionally, they earned a GRAMMY for Best Latin Urban Album for Los Extraterrestres in 2009.

Wisin & Yandel join previous BMI President’s Award recipients including Carlos Vives; Gloria Trevi, Juanes, Luis Fonsi, and Pitbull, among others.

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments