Close this search box.

Gorillaz and Tame Impala Collab on “New Gold”

Gorillaz teamed up with Bootie Brown & Tame Impala for their latest single, “New Gold.” The song comes as the anticipation of the band’s new album, Cracker Island.

Gorillaz, Tame Impala

View this post on Instagram


A post shared by Gorillaz (@gorillaz)

Aug 31 marked the return of the virtual band Gorillaz with their new single “New Gold.” The song comes only few weeks after the June’s “Cracked Island” featuring Thundercat.


“New Gold” is an unexpected and exciting single coming from the Gorillaz upcoming album. Like the previously released hit, June’s “Cracked Island,” the song include an incredible collaboration. Australian multi-instrumentalist Kevin Parker, under the name of the psychedelic music project Tame Impala, arrived to join the group. American rapper and founding members of The Pharcyde, Bootie Brown was recruited as well.

What could have been the collision of two different approaches ended up being a perfect fusion of the artists traits. The combination of the projects results in an absolute banger. Maintaining both the so-different styles, “New Gold” is an incredible mix of the artists influences and characteristic features. In fact, both Tame Impala and Gorillaz have a loud presence in the song, all while keeping the song cohesive and uniform.

The song results as the ultimate collaboration for an unmatched sound. This song keeps you tied to your headphones for hours while a catchy disco-funk beat plays through the hit. The beat anticipates and accompanies Brown’s rap bars. Tame Impala’s psychedelic vocals close the circle of multiple influences in the song.

As announced by the English group on their official platforms, the two singles are the anticipation of the band’s upcoming album, Cracker Island.

Cracker Island


Together with the single, Gorillaz also announced a new album coming up!

Cracker Island is the new release, prospected to see the light in 2023 on Feb 24. The album is already available for pre-save.

Since their formation in 1998, Cracker Island will be Damon Albarn, Jamie Hewlett and Mike Smith’s ninth studio album. It will present 10 tracks. Not only “New Gold” and “Cracked Island” will be included, but also eight more songs. Incredible collaborations were announced. Beside the already-mentioned ones, the names that stands out are Stevie Nicks, Bad Bunny, Beck, and Adeleye Omotayo.


01. “Cracker Island” (Feat. Thundercat)
02. “Oil” (Feat. Stevie Nicks)
03. “The Tired Influencer”
04. “Tarantula”
05. “Silent Running” (Feat. Adeleye Omotayo)
06. “New Gold” (Feat. Tame Impala & Bootie Brown)
07. “Baby Queen”
08. “Tormenta” (Feat. Bad Bunny)
09. “Skinny Ape”
10. “Possession Island” (Feat. Beck)

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments