Courtney Barnett Unveils “Before You Gotta Go”

Australian singer-songwriter Courtney Barnett unveiled her latest single “Before You Gotta Go,” which will form part of her upcoming album Things Take Time, Take Time.

Lockdown Inspired Courtney’s Upcoming Album

Back in July, Courtney shared the official lead single off the upcoming album, “Rae Street.” The song premiered at Triple J’s Good Nights program. During the song premiere, Courtney shared that the introspective single was written during the pandemic in 2020, while she “witnessed how the world was going downhill.”

Also during the song premiere, Courtney announced that her third studio album Things Take Time, Take Time will be released on November 12. “Some songs are letters that are addressed to my friends. Also myself. The entire album shows an exercise in patience.”

Now that we’re still three months away from the album release, Courtney has shared a second track off the project. “Before You Gotta Go” is a serene song about not wanting someone you love to leave your side. “Before you gotta go. I wanted you to know. You’re always on my mind. If something were to happen, my dear. I wouldn’t want the last words you hear. To be unkind,” she sings in the chorus.

“Sometimes I try to say everything in one song or put my whole belief system into a vox pop, but you just can’t do that — it’s impossible,” Courtney says.

Things Take Time, Take Time Tracklist

Things Take Time, Take Time is the follow-up to Barnett’s second solo album Tell Me How You Really Feel, which came out in May 2018. Check out the tracklist for the forthcoming LP below!

  1. “Rae Street”
  2. “Sunfair Sundown”
  3. “Here’s the Thing”
  4. “Before You Gotta Go”
  5. “Turning Green”
  6. “Take it Day By Day”
  7. “If I Don’t Hear From You Tonight”
  8. “Write a List of Things to Look Forward To”
  9. “Splendour”
  10. “Oh the Night”
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Music Daily Rewind

Catch up on all the week's top music news, and new music releases, delivered to your inbox each Saturday. Subscribe to Music Daily's weekly Rewind!